Shop for herbs and other supplements on Amazon

Issues with PC. Taking PM and other herbs for progesterone.

(03-09-2015, 01:43 AM)seraphic Wrote:  
(03-09-2015, 01:33 AM)Lotus Wrote:  Well off the top of my head I think you'll be high on prolactin, which will keep progesterone and estrogen low. Btw, Vitamin E opposes estrogen. Prolactin increases inflammation, (stress/cortisol does that too). Reducing stress and over all body inflammation (free radical damage too) is a smart move. Inflammation is a systemic thing, not just a certain body part. Have you ever looked into cellular repair or mitochondrial metabolism?. There's something called the randle cycle (effect) which everyone should read (I mean if you ever get bored, then read it). Big Grin

Thank you SO much. I'm only starting to learn about hormones. I do have a lot of unexplained inflammatory issues in my body, which no tests or doctors have helped me with over the many years. My cortisol is apparently fine in my last test, despite having chronic fatigue and experienced adrenal burn out in the past. I've just been doing my best with a healthy diet, supplements, and stress reducing activities while I try to obtain more info. Definitely going to read up on these things.

Edit: Just read that vitex helps lower prolactin - so if it does do that, and assists progesterone, it's sounding like the best option.

Yes it does via the HPA (hypothalamus-pituitary axis). It (vitex) increases LH (luteinizing hormone) production while inhibiting the release of FSH (follicle stimulating hormone), leading to an indirect increase in progesterone and a normalization of prolactin levels.

I wouldn't add another HPA supplement (MACA) until prolactin is leveled out.