Shop for herbs and other supplements on Amazon

Phytoestrogen that doesn't lower blood sugar?

Hi,
So I'm new to NBE. I tried out Fenugreek, but am experiencing symptoms of Hypoglycemia. I already suffer from mild low blood sugar (have had fainting issues in the past) so I'm now wondering if anyone knows of a strong phytoestrogen that doesn't lower blood sugar? It seems like a lot of them do. Thanks!

Also, does PM lower blood sugar? I tried that and felt the same way when I was taking megadoses of Fenugreek.

First. FG isn't even a phytoestrogen, but an adaptogen...

But maybe hops? Though it's a pretty powerful phyto, it's also a pretty powerful soporific... but afaik there is no insulin response and, in fact, it tends to raise blood sugar.

But yes, PM does tend to cause an insulin response, which is why it's always suggested to take it close to a high carb meal.

Thanks for the response!

Wow, I'm glad you let me know Fenugreek isn't a phytoestrogen. What's the purpose in taking it then? Prolactin?
Also, do you know about Aguaje at all? I googled "aguaje blood sugar" and didn't see many results. I saw it being brought up on BHM a lot, and I believe it's a phytoestrogen, but I don't see it mentioned on here much.

I might try out Hops then! I've already ordered that and Red Clover. I'll make sure to take it at night though, since like you said, it makes you sleepy.

Thanks again Smile

(11-03-2013, 01:21 AM)ssamantha8390 Wrote:  Thanks for the response!

Wow, I'm glad you let me know Fenugreek isn't a phytoestrogen. What's the purpose in taking it then? Prolactin?
Also, do you know about Aguaje at all? I googled "aguaje blood sugar" and didn't see many results. I saw it being brought up on BHM a lot, and I believe it's a phytoestrogen, but I don't see it mentioned on here much.

I might try out Hops then! I've already ordered that and Red Clover. I'll make sure to take it at night though, since like you said, it makes you sleepy.

Thanks again Smile