Shop for herbs and other supplements on Amazon

PC Questions

(08-02-2012, 07:55 AM)Rosance Wrote:  Okay, so, I have a question...How come a supplement (cream or pill) that is made of Wild Yam has no warning of progesterone causing cancer, BUT when the product says Wild Yam & Progesterone it does have the warning on it? Wild Yam is progestogenic. Does that mean that as long as the product does not say Progesterone the company is not required to say it causes cancer? Or does the word Progesterone mean that it is not natural, meaning that the products that consist of Wild Yam & Progesterone are composed of natural and synthetic progesterone? In other words, as long as the product consists of Wild Yam the risk of getting cancer should not be there, right?

I'm no expert, but my understanding is this:

Progesterone is natural hormone produced by the female body in varying amounts both during the month and during a lifespan. It is not in itself carcinogenic and I thought it helped to prevent cancer , not cause it.

Progestins are synthetic forms of progesterone and as, I think it was Chrishoney, said recently, they can't patent a natural product but make a few minor changes to the chemical structure and it can be patented and still bind to the same receptors. Some of these synthetic progestins definitely DO have some nasty side effects.

Wild Yam does not contain either progesterone or progestins, but it does contain diosgenin, which by a relatively simple process in a lab can be converted to nature-identical progesterone. i.e a chemical molecule which is identical in every respect the one produced naturally in the body. Note that the human body does not have any known mechanism to make this conversion by itself, so swallowing Wild Yam in any form will not enable your body to synthesise more progesterone for itself.